Banniere

Advocacy

The ABC

ADVOCACY
July 26th, 2013

Originally, to advocate meant to stand up in court to make a plea to defend the rights of a particular party.

Today, advocacy often refers to a discourse developed by non-governmental organizations (NGOs) to defend the rights of people who are unable to defend themselves in the face of powerful institutions (governments, international corporations, big property owners, etc.) pursuing their own interests.

The objective of advocacy is usually to defend the rights, and improve the living conditions and well-being of society’s most disadvantaged, people living in extreme poverty, oppressed minorities, people living with disease, and those who are marginalized and rejected.

Through the power of the advocacy and public testimony, NGOs seek to win in the court of public opinion, the only place where the policies of large corporations and powerful leaders can be influenced. Advocacy work encourages the emergence of a global conscience.

Source : entre’AIDES – #31

Share on FacebookEmail this to someoneTweet about this on Twitter

Banniere

Plaidoyer

ABC

PLAIDOYER
Le 26 Juillet 2013

À l’origine, le plaidoyer est un discours prononcé en cour de justice pour défendre le droit d’une partie.

Les organismes non gouvernementaux (ONG) ont développé des discours de plaidoyer pour défendre les droits de personnes qui n’arrivaient pas à se défendre face à de puissantes institutions (gouvernements, entreprises internationales, grands propriétaires, etc.), qui poursuivent leurs propres intérêts.

L’objectif du plaidoyer est le plus souvent la défense des droits et l’amélioration des conditions de vie et du bien-être des plus démunis, des personnes vivant dans la grande pauvreté, des minorités opprimées, des personnes atteintes de maladie, exclues et rejetées.

En utilisant la force du témoignage et du plaidoyer, les ONG cherchent à gagner « la bataille de l’opinion publique », la seule susceptible de faire changer les politiques des dirigeants les plus puissants et des grandes entreprises. Le plaidoyer favorise l’émergence de la conscience d’une citoyenneté mondiale.

Source : entre’AIDES – n°31

Share on FacebookEmail this to someoneTweet about this on Twitter